Daydream believer

I did it! My first song…it doesn’t have a title yet, but I finished it…two nights’ work ..about three hours. I think its a hit…oh I am gushing! Now I know one some level what Chris Martin feels like! The idea was right there last night in five minutes. Spent so much time polishing the verse/chorus/bridge. The meter is accurate (i think).

Verse

I’m thinking out aloud,
Lyin’ awake in my bed,
Love’s overrated, but I’d
Rather be in yours instead.

I cheat the ones I love
I do it just for you,
But do you really care,
What do I mean to you?

Chorus

So do you sit and wonder why
It didn’t turn out right for you?
If you don’t go back on your words,
Why do words go back on you?

Verse

Used to dream of forests,
I sit at this steel desk
Too many dreams bite the dust,
Drudgery weighs on my chest.

No aims, aspirations,
A vagabond, I roam
I have a billion friends,
Yet somehow I’m alone.

So do you sit and wonder why
It didn’t turn out right for you?
If you don’t go back on your words,
Why do words go back on you?

I buy baubles for m’self,
I buy baubles for you,
Maybe I buy them cause
I’ve nothing better to do?

He blames his family,
I blame it on my job,
She blames the white pills that
She has no control of.

Bridge

Can’t find happiness in you,
And it’s not within me
Why do you try to help others,
When help is what you need?


So do you sit and wonder why
It didn’t turn out right for you?
If you don’t go back on your words,
Why do words go back on you?

12 thoughts on “Daydream believer

  1. Its AWESOME. And this from the person who said a few days ago, that she couldnt write a song to save her life.Well.. this isnt a since-I-visit-ur-blog-I-must-compliment… its real. The song is great!

  2. Well, it’s ok… but we’ll need a tune to go with it right?I love the last part thoughSo do you sit and wonder whyIt didn’t turn out right for you?If you don’t go back on your words,Why do words go back on you?Hmmmmmmmm

  3. Thanks!Angel-tune’s a work in progress because I can’t play any instruments…AJ-Gladly! I’m honored that you wanna use it! Just credit me, you know, just in case Chris Martin reads it. =DMahi-I sure hope so, maybe I’ll figure it out over the weekend. And I am a hopeless singer. My voice is bass, kinda like Macy Gray.(which is an insult to poor Macy)

  4. Nice!I’m curious about the way you will sing it though… I see so many songs in black&white and then when you hear them you kick yourslf for dreaming up something else as the tune….. I shall refrain till we can be honoured with a tune.Cheers!

  5. Merci!Well, for starters, I’m stuck in a rut…being a huge coldplay fan means I keep trying to fit these words into Coldplay tune. How weird is that? The song can actually be sung along to “Swallowed in the sea”..(i guess)

  6. words fail me.this is indeed one of your best efforts at creative work. i try to imagine the song wiht your voice , and it always sounds great !Why do you try to help others,When help is what you need?keep the energy flowing, may this be the first of many !

Leave a Reply

