Material Girl

zzzz…

huh.. what…oh, its you again…..yawwnnnn…

Okay. I’m awake now. Thankfully Olio came out with the Grande size Latte this week.
Don’t ask why but I thought it’d be a great idea to start unpacking at 10 last night. No it wasn’t. And I didn’t even finish. But I did manage to show off all the spoils of my shopping misadventures to my roommate. India’s a great place to buy linen. Ohhh.. linen’s so classic, so cool. My mom doesn’t quite agree.
“What are you wearing! ITS SEE-THROUGH! GO UPSTAIRS AND CHANGE.. NOW!
“What? Its linen mom! Its supposed to be classic chic okay?..*gets an angry glare*…okay FINE! I’ll go and change!”

Mom’s fashion forward, she knows them Guccis from them LVs. (Even my grandpa knows the Lancomes from the Guerlains) But she doesn’t understand all my choices. Every single time I go home, my mom and I get into a “lingerie debate”. She questions my choices and I ignore her. Every single time. Don’t understand why she doesn’t give up.
“So you’re saying 80 dollars for a bra is a steal?”
“Yes mom”
“Can’t you get anything a little less expensive?”
“Yes mom, see this one’s only 50”
Mom walks away after making a far-fetched hypothesis about how I can save 500 dollars every month if I buy less extravagant lingerie and shoes. And then there will be peace in the middle east …and there will be pink unicorns flying around…and you get the drift.

“They’re nice no? They’re Armani” (I preen)
“Yes very nice, how much are they, a hundred?”
“No, you can’t get it THAT cheap!”
“150?”
“No”
“200?”
“Forget it, don’t ask…it was worth it..whatever I paid”
Brother butts in. “WHAT? YOU PAID THAT MUCH FOR SUNGLASSES? AND YOU BITCH ABOUT 400$ ON AN IPOD! MOTIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII”

He does have a point, even though he’s spoilt like month-old milk.

They’re all very understanding about how terribly brash I am with cash. Guess I really do need to start saving money seriously, especially if I want that MBA thing.

Meanwhile, my dad’s convinced that the pink Omega constellation with diamonds is a worthy buy.

10 thoughts on “Material Girl

  1. visiting your blog after a very long time. Your blogs have become much nastier and kind of funnier than it used to be. The increasing no.of hits and comments have really increased your class of blog. Great Going Jupi!!!

  2. mum’s are like that….and even i love buying lingerie…..most of my salary goes into buying lingerie,bags,clothes…perfumes…and latest addiction high heels ….saw one by tommy hilfiger….really nice …one of those black high heels worn by slutty ..classy working women

  3. Casa- I’ll take door#2!Clint- You’re like…so easy to tick off!Saurabh- 🙂 My mom is quite extravagant herself. She’s in denial though.Mahi- Sigh, yes, they know. And btw, that s.o.b. who reported Kelso – I hope he trips over his shoelaces and falls face down in a pile of dung.Nutty- My dear dear nutty,so your new company allows my website? That’s great! And thanks for all the compliments =DAlice- I KNOW! Tommy’s new collection is hot! Did you see the ones with red piping? Its so frikking sexy. And damn bloody 3.5 inch heels too! I can’t buy them this season, very low on cash. =((Waiting for the xmas sales to kick in…)

Leave a Reply

