Miss Independent

Today I needed to be in office only at 1pm, I work the graveyard shift once a week. I know… I feel like fuckin guard dog.

It took me three hours to get out of bed. I had no reason to oversleep, but I did.

The past few days have been a dangerous overdose of Sex and the City. Not only do I feel like a fabulous independent woman, but I also feel like a 35 year old who dreads marriage and at the same time fears that she will never be one of the lucky ones to actually get married. Oh and yes, I am having a horribly strong desire for a Dior saddle bag. (because I didn’t get those lovely shoes in my size the other day..bah!)

Marriage,schmarriage..this ain’t about that.

I’m tired of being independent. I wanna burden someone for a change. Oh come on, don’t give me that look!
I’m tired of working and earning my money, paying my rent, shopping on my money, doing my laundry, cleaning my house myself, ironing my clothes, hemming my own pants and blah blah blah.

Yes I know it feels great to be independent. It is awesome to live alone. Most of my friends in India have never lived a week on their own. Most of them are working and haven’t moved out of their parents’. Not that that is wrong in any way.
The fact that you are answerable to noone, that you are paying for your own degree, that you can buy anything you want no matter how unreasonably its priced, that you can come home at whatever ungodly hour you please, ..all that is just great.

Maybe I’m just a confused cookie, but I sometimes get tired of looking after myself…

Nothing fancy, it would be nice if I was woken up by a human being– everytime I am late for work because I overslept, I cannot help thinking that it wouldn’t have happened if I lived with someone–
, or if I didn’t have to pour my own staple glass of juice every evening
, or if someone else massaged my hair before a shampooing
, or once in a while someone else hung my washed laundry out to dry.

I’m not sure where this is going. I don’t know if this means that I need a man, a maid or a trip to India or a trip to the spa. But every which way, I need some pampering. ( I know I compared a lot of diverse things in the same breath and I am so totally going to the deepest depths of hell for that.)

I’m tired of being all grown up.

19 thoughts on “Miss Independent

  1. I know what you mean. I *so* know what you mean! But we cant have it all, can we? :(And so I’ve decided, that not being answerable to others is more important to me than spending time cleaning the house and clothes… so I’ve kinda settled for it.

  2. Pahailee- I guess you can,.. but living alone, without even the option of a go-to guy is a bit different…and not always a good thing :)Casa- Sheesh…so sad…I want to be pampered! Where is my sugardaddy!

  3. Everyone wants to be pampered once in a while. What do you think Credit cards are for?Go on … frost yourselves :-)Ah I much like the independent life.. though I wish I had a whole apt. to my self and a kick ass home theatre system and a state of the art camera and a basement for a studio and those fancy two door matt finish referigators, wi-fi, human sensitive lighting and climate control system and a roof which can slide to reveal a glass roof… ok! so I dream a little… so what!

  4. ok I just realised I kinda went off topic there.Hmm… Marriage is a good thing till the time you’re in love and all that. Then it just becomes a routine. It needs constant work.. and truck loads of patience. Ah then again.. thats my perception.Back to fantasy land… I wouldnt mind living in one of those Art studio type of apartments too. You know the ones in movies. A big hall with pillars, where you enter your hoome right out of an elevator and you have your studio in one corner and your bedroom in another. The kitchen in one corner and a seperate loo. On the far side you have a chequered glass & Brick wall looking down 10 floors or the New York Skyline. Wooden floors and brick walls…:-)Sorry for spamming your place… just got thinking…

  5. Saurabh-Would you believe me if I told you I know a guy who lives in exactly that apartment?Everything you mentioned except the glass roof and the basement…but how does a glass balcony sound?Oh and the bathroom has a view of the city and a sunken granite bathtub.Yeah I know…I feel worthless too.

  6. oh dahlink just do what im gonna do – marry a rich guy, sponge off him and get his maids to do the laundry (and dishes)!now get to work on finding him…or just get with that guy who has the fab house and merc!!!(and if u dont want him..then pass him my email addie. share and care jups…share.and.care.)

  7. Oh Jups! We all want to be loved (and pampered) but to be loved, we have to be lovable or some crap like that. So go ahead and pamper yourself the way only you know how!

  8. Hey there DOJ,Yu know what i live in India…but i feel the excat way too..atlest once a month and in those bad months..even twice n thrice.Been away from home since 5 yrs now…first graduating in Pune and now workin in Bbay. Have bought my own veggies, books, clothes, soaps, detergents, towel softners (never knew they exsited at home – just thot towels remained soft forever), fruits, bank statements, credit card biils,spoons n plates and worst of them all – medicines.First time I went for a blood test alone, i was depressed for 2 days with no disease.Anyway, just to share something – my way of beating this feeling w/o any spa, massage, shopping and blah.Just face it and walk right thru it – live in the dirty room for a day, walk with those un-pedicured toes and un-manicured fingers, let the laundry hang & chill by itself and dont bother with the groceries inventory. 1 or max 2 days, and VIOLLA…feeling gone, some fren called, life catches on, things just fall into place,mums old habit calls on – while on the handfree cleaning happens, on way back from work shopping happens n clothes fins a way into the cupboard while yu thinkin abt something at work and yu dont even feel the pinch.Works for me. And yep thats when the chocolate dessert n sopping spree comes in!!Love n luck!!

  9. Hey there DOJ,Yu know what i live in India…but i feel the excat way too..atlest once a month and in those bad months..even twice n thrice.Been away from home since 5 yrs now…first graduating in Pune and now workin in Bbay. Have bought my own veggies, books, clothes, soaps, detergents, towel softners (never knew they exsited at home – just thot towels remained soft forever), fruits, bank statements, credit card biils,spoons n plates and worst of them all – medicines.First time I went for a blood test alone, i was depressed for 2 days with no disease.Anyway, just to share something – my way of beating this feeling w/o any spa, massage, shopping and blah.Just face it and walk right thru it – live in the dirty room for a day, walk with those un-pedicured toes and un-manicured fingers, let the laundry hang & chill by itself and dont bother with the groceries inventory. 1 or max 2 days, and VIOLLA…feeling gone, some fren called, life catches on, things just fall into place,mums old habit calls on – while on the handfree cleaning happens, on way back from work shopping happens n clothes fins a way into the cupboard while yu thinkin abt something at work and yu dont even feel the pinch.Works for me. And yep thats when the chocolate dessert n sopping spree comes in!!Love n luck!!

  10. Hey there DOJ,Yu know what i live in India…but i feel the excat way too..atlest once a month and in those bad months..even twice n thrice.Been away from home since 5 yrs now…first graduating in Pune and now workin in Bbay. Have bought my own veggies, books, clothes, soaps, detergents, towel softners (never knew they exsited at home – just thot towels remained soft forever), fruits, bank statements, credit card biils,spoons n plates and worst of them all – medicines.First time I went for a blood test alone, i was depressed for 2 days with no disease.Anyway, just to share something – my way of beating this feeling w/o any spa, massage, shopping and blah.Just face it and walk right thru it – live in the dirty room for a day, walk with those un-pedicured toes and un-manicured fingers, let the laundry hang & chill by itself and dont bother with the groceries inventory. 1 or max 2 days, and VIOLLA…feeling gone, some fren called, life catches on, things just fall into place,mums old habit calls on – while on the handfree cleaning happens, on way back from work shopping happens n clothes fins a way into the cupboard while yu thinkin abt something at work and yu dont even feel the pinch.Works for me. And yep thats when the chocolate dessert n sopping spree comes in!!Love n luck!!

  11. Hey there DOJ,Yu know what i live in India…but i feel the excat way too..atlest once a month and in those bad months..even twice n thrice.Been away from home since 5 yrs now…first graduating in Pune and now workin in Bbay. Have bought my own veggies, books, clothes, soaps, detergents, towel softners (never knew they exsited at home – just thot towels remained soft forever), fruits, bank statements, credit card biils,spoons n plates and worst of them all – medicines.First time I went for a blood test alone, i was depressed for 2 days with no disease.Anyway, just to share something – my way of beating this feeling w/o any spa, massage, shopping and blah.Just face it and walk right thru it – live in the dirty room for a day, walk with those un-pedicured toes and un-manicured fingers, let the laundry hang & chill by itself and dont bother with the groceries inventory. 1 or max 2 days, and VIOLLA…feeling gone, some fren called, life catches on, things just fall into place,mums old habit calls on – while on the handfree cleaning happens, on way back from work shopping happens n clothes fins a way into the cupboard while yu thinkin abt something at work and yu dont even feel the pinch.Works for me. And yep thats when the chocolate dessert n sopping spree comes in!!Love n luck!!

  12. Aloha Tee, you made a big bang with that first comment!I love what you’ve said.And yes, sometimes it takes dirty rooms and dirty toes to knock sense into you.p.s. I HATE going to the doctor’s by myself. sometimes I just don’t go.=)

Leave a Reply

