My favourite things

I have spent the entire morning obsessing about clothes. I have discovered outlet malls in tucked away little towns in Netherlands where I’ll be running off to on my alone time on weekdays.

I have found beautiful Italian, German and Dutch brands that sell exquisite clothing and I’ve found where they are located. Oh dear lord, the fall trends are the most gorgeous of them all. Which completely sucks for me, because I live on the equator. On the plus side, I think I could do without layered clothes, if you get my drift. Anyway, I’m quite taken with Bandolera, Stefanel, St.Emile and several other French, Italian, Dutch and German labels.. I can’t wait to let them rip me off!!

And that’s when I realised..(this is quite fitting considering I’m going the Von Trapp way very soon- I mean I’m headed to Austria not having twenty children, dumass)

*Puts on a dowdy dress made of green drapes*

Lace on silk corsets, and Marc Jacobs mittens,
Bright red woolen overcoats,
with big shiney buttons
Black skirts with white tulle that’s tied up with strings,
These are a few of my favourite things…

Hats colored purple
An’ chantilly lace girdles,
Cashmere sweaters with long necks of turtle,
Gold lamé dresses that are full of bling bling,
These are a few of my favorite things..

Rich cocktail dresses, with broad satin sashes,
Lancome L’extreme for my long pretty lashes,
Fall lines are wasted, here it’s always spring,
But these are a few of my favourite things..

When my shoe’s scuffed,
When my nail chips,
When my hair looks sad,
I simply let the cash register ring,
And then I don’t feel so baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!

And let’s not forget the shoes…

Knee-length black boots with heels of the kittens,
Shiny pink stilettos leave me quite smitten,
Blahnik’s brown suede bootie tied up with strings,
these are a few of my favourite things…

Patent pumps and Zanotti’s strappy sandals,
Bold animal prints, not everyone can handle,
Choo and Caovilla will make my heart sing,
For these are a few of my favorite things..

Pucci espadrilles with printed silk sashes,
Bejewelled Vuittons may cause blinding flashes,
Silver d’Orsays put a step in your spring,
These are a few of my favorite things…

When my job sucks,
When my bank breaks,
When I’m feeling small,
I simply put on my favorite pair,
And then ooh, I feel so taaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaallllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll!

*Curtsies*

Reversal of word structures is 100% intentional…

19 thoughts on “My favourite things

  1. And to tell you the truth .. if I had read this blog a year back I would have had no idea what Jimmy choo, Blahnik, Channel, Prada, Valentino would mean.Thanks for educating us lesse mortals.-Saurabh

  2. Impressive rhyming! I was singing it along to the original melody in my head… Catchy lines you have got there.. Anyway, I feel you girl, on all that retail therapy! For me the cash register rings for Shu Uemura and MAC :-D-curlylocks

  3. Charming! A paraody worthy of Weird Al Yankovic’s Accordian to be sure.You’d be proud of me, being obsessed with clothes myself today inbetween my study. Summer is approaching and I’ve been Realising That i need to make a decision about what I’m going to wear besides long jeans and a shirt or two and a jacket. I’m probably going to sit down tomorrow with Linen and fashion myself reminissent of hippy’s sitting in cicles playing with a hacky sack.And wow, many other admirers. Anonymous admirers. Be careful, or you’ll get a big hea……. Oh yes, right. Carry on You pretty girl.

  4. Casa- Yes.. as we speak !!Saurabh- I wish I was up there in that league.. some day.. thanks :)FFF- Aren’t you a kind patron of genuine talent! Merci beaucoup for the movie!!Anon- Gosh! *takes a bow*Duhita- Tee hee..who doesn’t ? =)Curly- MAC eyeliner is hot! Lancome and Dior too.. :)Anon- MerciMahi- It’s easier when you’re leeching on to someone else’s good work ;)Kris- Gosh! What with all those dress shirts you ordered and all, you’d have nothing to worry abt! Teehee.. and you better have meant it with the compliment there 😉

  5. The shirts still haven’t arrived. I’m annoyed at cross-country shipping. It seems the pacific ocean is a bigger obsticle than 6-8 weeks shipping supposedly can handle.Oh and I meant the compliment. It was just veiled behind the playful insult. You are a pretty girl. And your love of dowdy dresses impressed and aids your singing.truely though, Drapes made awesome clothes. I may scavange my grandmother’s house for some nifty material now.

  6. Kris, Tee hee.. you make me blush..you be careful about the drape dressing now.. one minute you’re green flowers and the next, you look like one of those dowdy aweful sofas (the ones with the big ugly flowers)

Leave a Reply

