Penny and me

I love my friends, I really do. I am incredibly senseless, forgetful and all-over-the-place. And yet they find it in them to tolerate every word of mindless incoherent garbage that I spew out. I don’t talk much, I swear.. but …okay I do. But I’m all over the place and they care enough to remember all those things I say!

I love that my friends BOTHER to call, email, sms and show up when I need them to say, type or look into my eyes and listen and understand. I love that they bother with me given I am so neurotic, so obsessive, so pessimistic, so vain. And they do so even though I am forgetful about their stuff 99% of the time. I’m not a bad friend- I’m absent-minded. There’s a difference.

I feel really good today. I do. I am so grateful. for everything.

Yet there’s something amiss. It breaks my heart that some friendships have vanished into oblivion. One picture, one cuppa coffee, one stuffed puppy, one perfume, one old teeshirt… it just takes one little tap on the door of your memories for it all to come gushing out. As Carrie would say, why does the one thing you don’t have make you feel like you have nothing at all?

I don’t forget the real stuff. I mean that in a good way. The best way.

7 thoughts on “Penny and me

  1. I’m not a bad friend- I’m absent-minded. There’s a difference.why does the one thing you don’t have make you feel like you have nothing at all?Ditto on those thoughts. -Eleventy Seven.

  2. oh babe…it stinks sometimes but some friendships are better left that way..the important thing is that u guys are able to pick up from where you left off..that matters just as much as what you had in the past-hug-

Leave a Reply

