I believe I can fly

This morning I had an epiphany. At least I think it was one.

Faith has been problematic of late, so I have been doing self-affirmations. I spend loads of time everyday telling myself that I am capable of great things and great things I will end up doing. Words don’t count for much as such, but words I’d like to believe- that’s a different story.
I tell myself that I want this and that I can do this and that it doesn’t matter who succeeded or failed before me, that it doesn’t matter whether I’m young or immature or penniless or a woman and that I’m only as trivial as I want to be.

So this morning I told myself,
“Life isn’t easy. There will be times, Jupiter, when you’ll have to give up, acknowledge your weaknesses, surrender and take the easy way out. Times when impending liabilities will shackle you and stifle you. But this is not one of those times…”

(and then without a second’s interruption, I told myself)

“This day we fight!”

Fuck! I had a Lord of the Rings moment! And that’s not all…it played back to me on the TV on my way to work…at first it just sounded familiar but then there was no mistaking it.

“I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of woes and shattered shields, when the age of men comes crashing down! But it is not this day! This day we fight!”

So be it. This day I fight 😀

10 thoughts on “I believe I can fly

  1. Its nice to see Jups is taking the sword and shield to the front. One of the nice strappy shoes you have will make a might weapon to stick into some poor soul.But I can Relate to those moments. At times I get filled with some sudden rish of effort and confidence, stride around and make things happen DAMNIT.So enjoy the moment for now. And try not to stir up the orcs or anything. Newzealands exchange rate is bad enough as it is, without you causing the Goblins to attack the horse people or what not.

  2. Gayatri- The dark lord and his evil orcs.. teeheeStrider- thanks yo!Kris- Teehee.. horse people! Say it wth me …Riders of Rohan.. yes yes I know the AUD is doing very well these days.. friend of mine took the opportunity to order dress shirts from UK!Ninjasan- *kowtows* living high- haha .. same here.. methinks me is gonna dress up as galadriel for an upcoming costume party.. tee hee

  3. Oh don’t get me started on the Actual lord of the Rings Names. I had to study it in year 10, and as much as I love the novels, a classroom full of hormonal teenages ruined it with “Let my put my Helms deep in your Gap of Rohan”.Oh, and galadriel’s a decent costume choice. A friend (ie me) went to the 2nd movie at midnight, as we do for most movies and naturally had to dress up. I went, with about 30 small branches and twigs stickytaped to my body. Looked cool, but I couldn’t eat so much as an M&M without russling.

  4. Kris- So you’re an exhibitionist? branches and twigs? that’s not very LOTR unless you’re an ent..or were you going for the Adam look?Casa- Sigh.. Aragorn..posterchild for hotness with stubble..

Leave a Reply

