boys of summer

I played hookie from work yesterday. The past few nights have afforded me little or no sleep.. and I had been sleepwalking through work with fantasies in my head- daydreaming at the printer or sighing at the coffee machine. You see.. rainbows make me smile, they’re bright and colourful; you know they’re gonna be gone before you know it but you don’t expect more from rainbows, and you want to smile thinking that they’ll be back. That’s the thing about rainbows. Okay enough about rainbows. I’ve been drinking too much. The past few days have been one long blur with not much distinction between day and night. I’ve been surrounded by friends and people who call on me every few minutes. The attention has been a little blinding, but in a good way. Now Casa’s left to see the beautiful continent and the cute brown boys have gone back to India. Yes I still can’t get over the fact that broad-minded brown boys (who are still single and straight) exist, okay? Bite me.

I told my folks about the boys.. they’re happy to hear this but would still like to know whether said boys are south indian. What’s the right word? Yeah. BARF. Nice guys are in such short supply that it doesn’t matter whether they are Swiss or Swahili and here they’re concerned about the precise sub-sub-caste their ancestors were born into.

“The south indian ones are pretty gross, and fat and unsmart”
“You can make them smart”
(to myself, just what I need, a project!)
“No they are FAT and UNSMART AND I AM NOT INTERESTED IN FAT, UNSMART, IRRITATING GUYS!”

But fuck the irritating ones, it’s the cute ones that are worth talking about, and the possibility of spending a year with such smart, funny fellows who can teach you a thing or two without being patronising, whom you’ll feel good about helping in return.

I’m running out of words, mostly because I feel ever so slightly miserable and dull today after everyone’s left so I’ll let the songs do the talking for me…

I can see you-Your brown skin shinin’ in the sun
I see you walkin’ real slow and you’re smilin’ at everyone
I can tell you my love for you will still be strong
After the boys of summer have gone!

I can see you-Your brown skin shinin’ in the sun
You got that hair slicked back and those wayfarers on,
babyI can tell you my love for you will still be strong
After the boys of summer have gone !

Hee heee, it fits.. even if it actually doesn’t.

One thought on “boys of summer

Leave a Reply

