Subterranean Homesick Alien

From Wednesday…
I have a theory on the suddenly blossoming tulips burgeoning out of nowhere in concrete pots on each sidewalk (yes I said sidewalk instead of footpath…ha-ha!) – I think they’re being planted there just in time for May so that the “April showers bring May flowers” saying can be perpetuated. It’s just funny that until yesterday there was nothing there – not even a half-dead plant with leaves and today there are tulips of all colours in full bloom. I love tulips so I don’t mind – evil aliens with tulip greenhouses, I have no issues with you.

Yesterday turned out to be a miserable day. My moron of a boss gave me work to do at 6pm so I was stuck at work till midnight. This is turning into a really annoying routine now and I don’t like it one bit. This stinks like a rotten tuna sandwich.

There exist also several other reasons for me to cranky. Mom is sick and that upsets me, I don’t want her to be in pain so I hope she gets better soon. In the meantime, I take comfort in the fact that the much-needed rest will do her good.

I got my cable bill today and it’s completely effed up, they’re charging me some astronomical amount that doesn’t make any sense. Now I need to call the fucking cable company and yell at them in order to fix it. I am so not paying them double of what they quoted me. Geez.

In other yuppie American-consumer-ish news, I have signed up for Netflix which is obviously leagues and leagues ahead of good ol’ Video-Ezy in Singapore. It’s very cheap too with a monthly charge and unlimited DVDs to choose from. And it’s mailed to me so I don’t have to worry about store hours. Then again that shows you how bad my hours are if I can’t manage to pick up dry cleaning or get a haircut or return DVDs or do any of the things that normal people do. My grocery store closes at midnight and I thought that was awesome but clearly it’s not awesome enough because I can’t seem to make it in time for that either.

I really hate my boss right now. It’s not like I don’t want to work. I do want to work, just not start doing something from scratch at 6pm due for the next morning because that is just unfair and rude and totally unprofessional. And he’s not even in town mind you. When he is, he usually leaves at 6 so he can put his two children to bed. So what, now I need to churn out a couple of whiney babies of my own so I can go home at a decent hour? I fucking hate people.
P.S. Yesterday turned out to be another late nighter. I am so tired today, all my energy has been zapped out.

2 thoughts on “Subterranean Homesick Alien

  1. At the risk of you laughing at me humourlessly I am going to ask – is there no work-life balance policy??? :SCoz till midnight?? Totally not fair. Just coz you don’t have kids doesn’t mean you don’t have other responsbilities, and oh yeah, a LIFE.Hugs.

Leave a Reply

