set fire to the third bar

In a different life, Brendan and I would be in the same continent, country, city and area code and we would never have to move. In a different life, he would be my childhood sweetheart. In a different life, I would have actually chased my childhood dreams instead of money. In a different life, our careers would be less important, maybe even unimportant, and neither would be money. In a different life, we wouldn’t have to try so hard, we wouldn’t have to try at all. But this is a different life from that life. This is love in the time of recession. Let’s hope the recession doesn’t win.

I’m miles from where you are,
I lay down on the cold ground
I, I pray that something picks me up
And sets me down in your warm arms

Leave a Reply

