Damn It Feels Good To Be A Gangsta

Today was a truly fantastic day, and it was so for so many fantastic reasons.

  1. I woke up this morning to a comment from a friend (a friend I made by way of her reading Juice) on a picure I uploaded of myself and bunny on facebook. She said I looked beautiful and my friend was pretty too. What a fantastic way to start the day! (so I am vain, sue me).
  2. Mark invited me to his place last night to cook and eat with him and She. It was a really nice evening but it made me realize that Mark needs to work so much harder to make me fall head over heels in love with him. I realized that while Mark was so eager to get me to learn everything there is to know about his culture, he knew so little about mine. And I don’t even need to be taught on Italian culture or cuisine because I am not an ignoramus. I cooked a mean risotto when I was 20. And because I realized this and I don’t really have anything to lose here, I asked him straight out if he had something for She. He got upset, denied it completely and was very concerned that I thought he was giving off flirtatious vibes towards her. “how come you never believe me?” I said “I don’t know” and changed the subject. It was all rather delicious.
  3. He texted me 20 minutes later to tell me he’d made arrangements for a club I was going to on Friday night to play hindi music for me.
  4. The weather is taking a turn for the better. At lunch I went and got my eyebrows done, they look a bit wonky (no such thing as 100% perfect eyebrows, so whatever). And then I stopped by that little grey market boutique I liked and picked up 4 dresses (2 DVFs, 1 Chloe and 1 Marc Jacobs, apparently) and a fantastic green top (alldressedup). Needless to say, I cannot wait to schedule miscellaneous brunches, lunches and dinners as excuses to parade my spoils.
  5. In conversation, I was telling Eagle about how I don’t want to date an Indian guy but I also don’t want to date an ignoramus who doesn’t know diddlysquat about my culture. I described an example of how years ago I had told he-who-shall-not-be-named to take a hike (while talking about each others’ very distinct cuisines) and how he traveled to Kerala and texted me thrice a day describing each dish he had to win me over. It made me smile – I never doubted that that relationship gave me several happy memories but it was nice, regardless, to be reminded of it so inadvertently.
  6. Rehashing the conversations of last night in my mind, about how the Italians were so quick to dismiss the Indian way of doing things, I got to thinking about my parents and how they were so hellbent on finding a man for me; misdirected and misguided (considering who their daughter is) as their efforts may be, their hearts are in the right place. When Mark told me how his parents were high school dropouts, I was suddenly grateful for having insanely intelligent, well-educated, world-traveled parents and grandparents (my grandpa has a postdoctorate for fuck’s sake) with a liberal mindset and a deep regard for education and ambition. I wouldn’t trade them for anything or anyone even if they drive up the fucking wall with this marriage crap.

So yes, today was a truly fantastic day for fantastic reasons.

3 thoughts on “Damn It Feels Good To Be A Gangsta

  1. Oh that Mark seems interested in you surely! Sometimes guys just don't seem like they make any effort, but then we don't notice it/notice it later/hasn't been what we might expect it to be. Just like how he arranged for the club to play Hindi music! :)As for She, you can just flick her like a teeny-tiny bug dahling!

  2. 😀 Sounds fantastic all up and agree with the comment above – seems like he is into you fo sho. :PIf you don't think it's weird, hit me up on FB as well 🙂

  3. I found the link to your blog from Nandinisniche. It's become my absolute favourite online reading material since! I love the zeal and humour in your posts. They've kept me going all though the endless SOPs, online apps, etc, I've had to get through while applying to colleges in the US… Thanks so much! Awesome blog!-Chitra

Leave a Reply

