What makes you beautiful (part 1?)

I’ve been struggling with writers’ block of sorts, well not in the real sense of not feeling inspired to write but more in the sense that I am not sure if my life is getting a bit too crazy for its documenting on Juice to be kosher. I have been increasingly exercising censorship on the details but sometimes (case in point my 30th birthday) censoring would mean basically not writing anything at all. Make of that what you will.

So here’s the kosher, sentimental and PG-rated first part of what I wrote to describe my absolutely amazing 30th birthday celebrations in beautiful Bali. And you can tell me whether I should publish the hedonistic second part or not. Picture me in a top hat and pointing at you “I want to hear from YOU”

I can’t believe it’s been 6 days of being 30 already (21, actually, at time of publishing, why do I take so long between laying and hatching my posts?). Should I be feeling different or the same? What is the right answer here? Because I do feel a little different but I can’t put my finger on what or why it feels different.

I need to fill you in so many many things not the least of which are my superbalifragilisticexpialidocious 30th birthday and all the misadventures it came with and before that, the worst date of my life (update: done!)and right after that, this maddening weekend. The crazy never ends here at Jupsville. So let’s get started, shall we?

Right. I have already told you about how my 3 hour date-of-horrors went. If I mean anything more to you than a nameless flea does, you will have felt sorry for me, enraged even that I had to go through that. If you didn’t, well get the fuck out of my blog.

Now for Bali, no, turning 30 in general, come to think of it.

This is the verdict: If you are about to turn 30, and you haven’t achieved say, every single thing you wanted to before turning 30, say life didn’t turn out like you had imagined it would, then I suggest you do what I did i.e. something grand, nay grandiose for your 30th birthday. Because you, my dear darling, may not have bought a house yet or gotten married to Mr/Ms. Right or seen all the 7 wonders of the world (why I list that as a significant milestone, I don’t know, because of reasons). Who is to say that you don’t deserve to wear a Hollywoodesque dress and throw yourself a massive party that your close friends attend? No one, that’s who. I felt that I deserved to celebrate everything I had done, especially those things that I had never dreamed or hoped or expected I would do. Because there were so many of those things – too many to name – and there was something spectacular and almost overwhelming about that retrospection.

And it was absolutely awesome realizing that while sipping pink bubbles with nice (and beautiful) friends by the private poolside of a luxurious villa in beautiful Bali. So I celebrated because I was truly grateful for the things I did have while being hopeful about someday getting the things I didn’t.  So I don”t earn bonuses of 200,000 dollars (YET!) but I earn enough to afford all this and I have turned out to be nice enough of a person to have earned nice friends who would fly to Bali to eat, drink and dance with me. Maybe for now, that will do.

I really didn’t think this was what my 30th birthday would be like, two years ago. I thought I’d be celebrating it with a husband (in some lovely destination, no doubt). That was where that vision ended. I daresay this reality is more vivid, more beautiful. Yes. 

8 thoughts on “What makes you beautiful (part 1?)

  1. Is this even a question? Juice isn't Juice without the hedonistic second half of the story. šŸ™‚ Belated birthday wishes and congrats on the big celebration!

  2. Well, Kosher makes Jups boring. šŸ˜€ So pls show us some more of that crazy awesomeness you were born with and write the second post, will ya? And well, lets see the pluses – you studied at "big ass business school", live a kingsize life in hongkong and wear BCBG while sipping cocktails. šŸ˜€

  3. RI am a lurker, been reading you regularly for a while now and love your honest style.. You lead a very fun life IMO and we work in the same broad industry – banking and finance !!Please post, waiting to read part 2.

Leave a Reply

