Like the ceiling can’t hold us

Like the ceiling can't hold us

This right here is the fucking amazing Macklemore from the Macklemore & Ryan Lewis concert I went to last night. I fucking loved them before and I love them even more now. These two men have gone against the grain and been immensely successful while putting out sick beats and rapping about hope rather than hate not to mention looking and being cool as hell.

The stories Macklemore shared last night were honest and from the heart. This is a story about cleaning up, failing, falling, picking up the pieces and finally making it. What really spoke to me though was how he and Ryan Lewis met – by him clicking on a myspace link to Ryan’s beats. The serendipity of it all, you could tell he meant it when he said he had no fucking idea that their music would take them as far as Hong Kong or Tokyo. Ben and Ryan, you boys are an inspiration to me and to anyone who is terrified of being mediocre forever.

The last few weeks have been crazy. Good crazy. I have done things I never thought I could do and considered doing other things I didn’t think I could. I flew to Bombay hurriedly to help my mother out because my grandma was ill (she’s on the mend now, thank God). I was only in India for 4 days but it was a good trip. I felt grateful that I could afford to do it (both in terms of time and money).

I invested in two works of art – another daring move that could blow up in my face but I figured it was probably a more interesting and gratifying way to spend my pittance of a bonus than a handbag and a fixed deposit.

I decided that even if Ike went away for a month or two to pursue his own dreams, we would be okay. The last few days apart went by fine thanks to long, loving emails about nothing  and he welcomed me back home with a dozen more plants. So there we are. If you love something, you have to set it free and all that cliched-ness. Something tells me that we won’t have to be apart anyway; either way, clarity is not far off.

And coming back to Macklemore and serendipity again, I cannot help being filled with hope about something else that’s in motion in my professional life. It is too soon for me to say anything but this and everything else that’s happening is consuming me. My little heart is terrified and exhilarated because the future looks daunting but it is not without promise.

Leave a Reply

