It was a very good year…

There is so much I want to share with you because it has been just so long since I had a chance to write. I finally broke my promise to not open WordPress at work because I got sick of not writing.

I am busy. I am busy all the time and I don’t mean that as a complaint. I say this to Ike all the time – I am busy because I am living more than I ever imagined possible. I am always low on sleep because I am trying to make the most of every hour in the day and sometimes that means sacrificing sleep.

I am finally losing weight and getting healthier. I was in denial about my weight gain for a while. I am not morbidly obese but I was kidding myself that the 5 kilos I had gained over the last 12-18 months were temporary post-California or post-Christmas or post-stressful-job weight gain. They weren’t but the good news is they are finally starting to shed. I have gone from my maximum 59.5 kilos to 55 kilos. My ideal weight, the magic number, is around 51-52 and that is a mid-2015 goal. I’ll explain why later. My point is that right now, I feel amazing and I finally am starting to look good in pants again! Also, I wore an unforgiving pale pink stretch satin sheath dress today and I don’t look like the Michelin man. And my tights are not even control-tops bitches!

Ike and I moved into our new place. Or as I like to say, our old apartment, because it’s so old. But it is also beautiful and the last month and a half, every spare moment has been spent collecting furniture, hacking through dead shrubbery, throwing away old garbage and decorating the fuck out of the place. It is probably 80% done at this stage so I can’t really complain. Most of the delay is attributable to how much we both hate going to IKEA. IKEA in Hong Kong is a special beast because even little things like shelfs and side tables are not actually stored in-house but rather have to be ordered and collected ten days later. You can’t plan ahead either because on the IKEA HK website, the button that allows you to check availability to check stock literally tells you that the object you’re looking for is “probably” in stock “at the store or the warehouse”. To quote an old friend, that’s about as useful as a windshield wiper on a goat’s ass.

IMG_20141123_022825The rooftop terrace is our labour of love and it has come together nicely. We have a lot of plants growing quite happily alongside tall trees that were already there. There is plenty of outdoor seating, both inherited and salvaged from free-stuff ads on classifieds. And there are fairy lights and hand-made fractal print lamps that make the whole place magical. I am grateful for the joy and tranquility, this green space brings me in the middle of this bustling city.

Work is crazy busy and I try as much as possible not to complain too much about it. The good news is that I get to do something I like doing and for the most part, and on most days, I am much much happier than I ever was at my old firm.

I still come home and cook dinner on most nights. And on most nights, I do the dishes too as Ike and I have made a dishes-for-laundry-within-reasonable-limits trade. The new kitchen is old, large and spacious and it has a lovely pantry area for groceries and pots and pans, plenty of cabinets to stash away things and even a modest white sideboard to lovingly store my fragile crockery.

So I am busy, from 5.45 in the frikking morning to 11 pm – exercising, working, cooking, cleaning, decorating, shagging; in general living it up while being
grateful and regretting only a little bit that I have no time to write.

Do I think this dizzying pace is going to continue? I do think so. Because two Saturdays ago, Ike went down on one knee and asked me to marry him and my answer was an obvious, predictable, joyous and resounding yes.

8 thoughts on “It was a very good year…

  1. OMG!!!!!!!!!!! I cant believe this! This is so exciting, its crazy we haven’t ever met but I am literally jumped out of my seat when I read this 🙂 Pls write about (or mail!) other details. Lots of congrats & love to you

  2. This is amazing news!! I was anyways happy to see you write after so long and then how cleverly you kept the news till the very end! Congrats Jups! And now let us hear more 🙂

  3. Superb!! Many congratulations dear Jups! From your posts Ike comes across as a lovely person who totally deserves you 🙂 very happy for you guys… Please don’t abandon this place altogether.

Leave a Reply

